Uncategorized

Week 4 #IRISH BLOG COLLABRATION/GUEST POST

This week was names in a hat and we got paired off !
I got paired with the lovely Zoe from “I Believe In Romeo”.
We decided to do a questions & answers post ,it’s a great way to get to know someone and don’t we all love a bit of REALITY !!!! 

Blog Post – 10 Questions

Click for Options

Q+A:

How would you describe your blog?

Broadly, it’s a collection of my thoughts and opinions. I generally use it to hash out any mental health problems I am having and try to come up with a resolution (or at least find out more about the matter.)

Even with heavy content when it comes to my depression, I do try to inject humour throughout my blog as well – I’ve learned that the world is full of positives too!

How has blogging changed/affected your life?

Since I started my blog (almost a year ago!) I’ve been introduced to so many amazing people. I now have a wonderful blogging network, including the lovely ladies involved in the Irish Blogger Collaboration.

It’s also helped me to understand my mental health better; discovering triggers, analysing symptoms and sharing tips!

What do your family/friends think of your blog?

I’ve never really asked anyone outright what they think of my blog. My mum say’s I’m a great writer – Hi Mum! My little sister has subscribed to my blog and gets my posts emailed to her.

My closest friends send me supportive messages when I put up posts, and ask about upcoming ones. Everyone has been really sweet about it.

What/Who’s your biggest inspiration in life?

I don’t have one single inspiration, instead I draw on a lot of different influences.

Buffy Summers from Buffy The Vampire Slayer inspires me to be a strong, kick ass, empowered woman.

My parents sacrifices inspire me to be the best version of me that I can possibly be.

My sisters inspire me to set a good example in how I live my life.

My friends inspire me with their love and support every day.

Ryan Gosling inspires me to be Eva Mendes.

If you could only take one thing with you to a desert island what would it be?

A raft. So that I could return to humanity and civilization when I get bored.

But no one ever says that, so I’m guessing it’s not an option. Instead I’d take a journal (with a built in pen) so that I could write, and at least have some sense of company that way.

What most upsets you about people?

I can’t stand people who aren’t compassionate. Whether it’s with a physical injury, a mental illness, or even when it comes to how you react to people who are different than you are. Why can’t everyone just be nice, accepting and supportive?

What do you most love to wear?

My pencil skirt. A dress. Fancy tops. Basically the clothes I wear to work every day. I love getting and feeling dressed up. So when I put effort into my appearance and my outfits, it gives me more confidence.

Where do you see yourself in 10 years?

Married with 2 and a half kids. But seen as I’m currently single that is probably unlikely.

Realistically, I’ll be renting a loft apartment, working full-time in something, DIYing all my home decor in my spare time, owning a cat for company, having a shelf full of different flavoured teas, having a bookcase of books I’ve bought from charity shops, and binge watching Once Upon a Time because it will have been years since I’ve watched it.

Do you love your name ? And if you could change it what would you call yourself ?

I quite adore my name. My parents picked well. It’s a Greek name, meaning ‘life’. My mum says I was ‘the gift of life’. I spell it the French way with a trema over the e!

If I were to change my name though, I would pick something that runs in my family like Iva, Eva or Isabelle. Or Zelma. Now that’s a name.

If you could change one thing about yourself, what would it be?

I wish that I were more confident. In public speaking, in my writing, in my job. There are times when I am totally at ease in social situations, and other times it gives me serious anxiety. I can give a 5 minute speech on how amazing my favourite actor is, but a presentation in work just isn’t going to end well. I can mingle and network with the best of them, but then there are days when I’m completely introverted. It’s really difficult to deal with my lack of self-belief, especially when I can’t tell when or how it’s going to be triggered.

But I’m also lacking in confidence when it comes to my appearance. I’ve been really upset over the last few days all because I couldn’t find a pair of summer shorts that fitted me right in the shops. Later, I went through my whole wardrobe and  got annoyed at my overall choice of clothing (or lack of choice). Then my make up wasn’t sitting right, and I bit one of my nails off, and I wished I exercised more. Confidence is definitely my biggest issue at the minute. I’m hoping I can work on it and try to overcome it, but if there’s a magic wand lying around I’d really appreciate the help.

Hope you enjoyed this post as much as we did & until next time ,

My Beautiful Things XxX

And don’t forget to check out the girls below

http://breathingsilverlinings.blogspot.ie/          ~Catherine

http://deeterminedtoglamandglow.blogspot.ie/          ~Denise

http://whatkatelovesblog.blogspot.ie/          ~Cathryn

http://mentallybeautiful.com/          ~Cat

http://thelovesongoffashion.blogspot.ie/          ~Lara

http://chirpsfromalittleredhen.blogspot.ie/          ~Eimear

http://thriftoclock.blogspot.co.uk/          ~Maeve

http://www.behindgreeneyes.com/          ~Sharon

2 thoughts on “Week 4 #IRISH BLOG COLLABRATION/GUEST POST

    1. Pure determination Denise & hard work every little helps. Joining something like a M&T meet & train group would be fab as its free. Your out in the fresh air & you make new friends that give you lots of support & encouragement !
      Keep doing your best X
      We might meet up for a run some day !

      Like

Leave a Reply

