fashion

Brendan Courtney

courtney

What can I say when I got the opportunity to meet someone I really admire and look up to I jumped at it ! The handsome, funny and hugely successful  Brendan Courtney, what a gentleman so unassuming and gentle. He had time for everyone and kind words of advice for me. I got a photo with him and a hug and kiss oh he’s so dishy !

Brendan & I See how tight he's holding onto me ~ didn't want to let me go !!! lol
Brendan & I
See how tight he’s holding onto me ~ didn’t want to let me go !!! 

Brendan was effortlessly stylish on the day may I say. I was thrilled Brendan took the time to sit down with me and do a little interview here are the questions & answers. Hope you enjoy.

What is your favourite fashion era ?

I love elements from all eras but the 50’s is the era I love “Dior” to name one designer . Ladies started to dress in a provocative way and Fashion for women returned with a vengeance and the 1950’s era is known mainly for two silhouettes, that of the full skirt and the pencil slim tubular skirt, with both placing great emphasis on the narrowness of the waist. There were those in the 1950s that rebelled against the pristine immaculate groomed look, so often associated with Grace Kelly elegance.  Leslie Caron and Audrey Hepburn both often wore simple black sweaters, flat shoes and gold hoop earrings coupled with gamine cropped short haircuts.  They gave a continental alternative often described as chic and had many fashion followers seeking to embrace the modern. Images from that era below.

UK_fashion_13-216x300350x500_grace-kelly-general-1

US actress, Grace KELLY, posing for
Grace KELLY

vintage

If you could dress anyone who would it be ?

Tilda Swinston she is alien like & visually striking.

tilda-swinton

arrives at the 69th Annual Golden Globe Awards held at the Beverly Hilton Hotel on January 15, 2012 in Beverly Hills, California.

What advice would you give a stylist starting out ?

To work hard and gain lots of experience, take great pictures and blog . So keep doing what you’re doing.

What do you love doing to unwind and relax ?

I love to work out , mediate and dinner with loved ones or friends are all great ways to unwind and relax.

Do you look at what people are wearing and think oh that’s terrible ? 

Never I don’t make judgements on what people wear at all.

Is there any negative aspects to being a stylist ?

No ! It is the most wonderful feeling to make a woman feel beautiful.

 What is the most treasured item of clothing in your wardrobe ?

I clear out my wardrobe every year giving stuff to Portobello market and other places but I do have a dress belonging to my granmother that holds sentimental value and I treasure that.

When styling a fashion/editorial shot what elements are key ?

All elements are key from your Inspiration/ moodboards/ location/ hair/makeup you need all these working together to create a fabulous end product and look.

Can a photographer make or break you ?

No.

Why do you love fashion ?

I have loved fashion from a young age as I fondly remember my mother coming down the stairs on a saturday night glammed to the nines with her beautiful blonde hair and movie star looks I was in awe and my love of fashion grew from there. I remember at about the age of 11 telling my mom I wanted a pair of jeans …we were standing in Dunnes Stores Patrick st, Cork at the time and I had never owned a pair from then on I looked after my own clothes even doing my own laundry for fear of anything happening my clothes ..colour runs, shrinking etc.

Brendan with his glamourous mom Nuala

I had a wonderful day in the Imperial Hotel Cork and would like to thank Lorna & Elaine and all the staff for a great day they really looked after us. Thank’s to Brendan for being everything I expected and more it was wonderful to meet you.

Check out the Imperial Hotel below : http://www.flynnhotels.com/Imperial_Hotel_Cork/

Until next time,

My fashionistas XxX

Leave a Reply

